Skip to content
May 25, 2015 / mintcustard

Fairy bread biscuits.

Fairy bread biscuits

Fairy bread biscuits

Hello Vienna, London calling. In this house the Eurovision song contest reigns supreme. Both the semi finals and the finals are watched, discussed and generally loved to pieces. The length, intensity and sometimes downright wackiness of the whole event calls for snackage. Fairy bread cookies won out this year. Why Fairy bread cookies? To honour Australia’s entry that’s why. As Nigella was releasing her inner Katie Boyle and would be awarding douze points to one lucky country I almost went with Nigella’s Malteser traybake, however it was Australia’s debut. That needs celebrating, surely?

I thought meatpie? I thought Lamingtons? I even though shall I get those kangaroo burgers out of the freezer? Then I remembered being told about fairy bread, an iconic Australian children’s party dish. White sliced bread, buttered and dipped in hundreds and thousands. I really think this may be something you need to have eaten when small to then hanker after later in life. A biscuit version however……

Triangular fairy bread biscuits.

Triangular fairy bread biscuits.

Fairy bread biscuits (cookies) made 8

This is a ratio recipe that my Nan taught me. You can use cups, oz, 25g increments, whatever. I used ounces as it was Nan’s recipe!

1 oz caster sugar

2 oz soft butter

3 oz plain flour.

icing sugar

100s and 1000s

Preheat the oven to 160c. Cream the butter and the sugar, use you hands to work in the flour. Leave to rest in the fridge for 30 minutes. Roll out the dough to about 1/2  to 3/4 cm thickness. Cut into squares and then triangles, as you would for posh sandwiches. Place on parchment and bake for 10 to 14 minutes until golden at the edges. Leave to cool on a wire rack. Mix some icing sugar to a thickish paste. Placethe sprinkles on a saucer. Spread on the biscuits and then dip the biscuits in and press down to make sure every part is covered. Place back on the wire rack to harden a little.

I suppose if you wanted a little more authenticity butter cream would be better than water icing but I wanted the fairy bread cookies to remain crisp and the buttercream would have made them softer over time. Well done to Sweden for their winning entry. How did I celebrate? With a trip to IKEA of course!!!!

I’m adding this to the Treat Petite linky hosted by CakeyBoi this month but also run by The Baking Explorer as the theme is Eurovision!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thehungrymum / May 25 2015 8:22 am

    oooh, lovely! We are big fairy bread fans in this house but these bickies look even better!

    • mintcustard / May 25 2015 10:33 am

      Glad you like them. They should last a bit longer in a tin than sarnies!

  2. dropscone / May 28 2015 11:23 pm

    I didn’t know this was an Aussie recipe, fairy bread was a staple at parties when I was a kid in Hertfordshire!

    • mintcustard / May 29 2015 8:38 am

      I never had it in Surrey, but I really wish I did!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.