Skip to content
April 2, 2017 / mintcustard

Dragon egg nests – A spring recipe.

dragon1

Dragon egg nests.

Whilst I’m no expert, I’m pretty sure that dragons must follow the crowd and lay their eggs in the springtime. Having made more variations on chocolate nests than I can contemplate; shredded wheat, All bran (!),  cornflake, rice krispie, rocky road, melted chocolate, cocoa and syrup and filled with foiled eggs, mini eggs, jelly beans or peeps. The time had come, or so I thought, to grow up a little and start to make individual simnel cakes.

Then I spotted the golden eggs in the shops and they made me wonder what creature could have laid them. Dragons, only dragons or perhaps a phoenix could lay a golden egg. Then I started to wonder what a dragon’s nest would look like. I have a mind that wanders, what can I say! Probably brightly coloured and possibly a little sparkly? So I set out to make a new variation of the classic chocolate Easter or Spring nest. Dragon’s nests are a great way to use up the odds and ends in those jars of sprinkles that lurk in the cupboard.

Dragon’s nest rice krispie cakes – makes 12

50g butter

1 tbsp golden syrup

100g marshmallows

100g rice krispies

odds and ends of sprinkles (about 3 dsp) plus a few to scatter over the finished nests

2 bags of golden eggs (or foil wrapped eggs if you can’t source these)

muffin cases in a deep muffin tin

dragon2

Dragon egg nest

How to…..

  • Melt the butter together with the golden syrup in a large pan over a very low heat.
  • Tip in the marshmallows and melt into the syrup mixture stirring frequently.
  • Pour in the rice krispies with the sprinkles and mix well until the rice krispies are completely coated.
  • Divide the mixture evenly between the 12 muffin cases. Use a wet teaspoon to create a dimple in the middle of the nest to receive the eggs.
  • Top each nest with three eggs and a scattering of more sprinkles or glitter.
  • Dragon’s nest make perfect food for unicorns!

I have linked these up to this months Treat Petite, run this month by The Baking Explorer and alternate months by Cakeyboi

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kat Buckley / Apr 4 2017 9:06 pm

    These look fabulous, I love all the colours and textures! Thank you for linking up to #TreatPetite

  2. Corina / Apr 5 2017 5:27 am

    I always have loads of leftovers sprinkles in the cupboard and this is a great way to use them. I love the name dragon egg nests too!

  3. talkingmums1 / Apr 6 2017 7:13 am

    These look like fun to make x
    #Treatpetite

Trackbacks

  1. Treat Petite April - Round Up - The Baking Explorer

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.