Skip to content
October 2, 2016 / mintcustard

Simple pommes dauphinoise.

pommes1

It really doesn’t matter what their age, when your children return home for a day or so you want to spoil them a little (or a lot!). Older one came back for a night recently and I asked her what she’d like. Her reply? Pommes dauphinoise. I really didn’t have the time to poach the potato slices in an infused cream and layer up the slices into a pretty pattern, however I did want to bring a smile to Older’s face.

I did slice the potatoes finely, I also carefully mashed the garlic down to a puree with sea salt flakes and I left out the onion as she doesn’t particularly like onion. I am a soft touch!

Preheat the oven to 160c.

The key to my lazy method is choosing potatoes designed for mashing – I used desiree. I took a deep gratin dish and buttered it well. I scattered the bottom with a generous pinch of salt and grind of black pepper. Half the pureed garlic clove was added at this point too. I sliced the potatoes about the thickness of a pound coin and placed a layer into the base of the dish. Again a generous scatter or salt and ground black pepper, the remaining garlic puree and a few dots or butter. Another layer of potato slices, seasoning and then enough cream to just cover the spuds. A few more dots of butter and some seasoning, just to finish off the dish.

Cover the dish with foil and bake for 30 minutes, then uncover and bake for a further 15 minutes.

Allow to cool a little and then serve great big piles of the stuff. Great as an accompaniment to roasts, casseroles or just on it’s own out of the gratin dish with a spoon and a box set. A hot alternative to a tub of ice cream when you need some comfort in your life.

 

Leave a Reply

