Skip to content
July 24, 2016 / mintcustard

Pink pickled turnips and bread and butter pickles.

Pink pickled turnips and bread and butter pickles.

Pink pickled turnips and bread and butter pickles.

I am very partial to a pickle. Sadly, I’m the only one in my family who is. Not really much point me making them really as I can buy a small jar for my own indulgence. That was until I was offered homemade turnip pickles to accompany some delicious falafel at a recent school fair. Being cheeky I asked for, and was given the recipe by www.daddy-can-cook.com. Here it is to share with you, he did say I could!

Pink pickled turnips in falafel.

Pink pickled turnips in falafel.

Pickled Turnips

Makes 1 litre jar

All you need is

1 small beetroot, trimmed, peeled, quartered

1 red chili, uncut, for some heat

1/2 kg small turnips, trimmed, peeled, quartered or sliced like french fries

125 ml red wine vinegar

325 ml water

2 tbsp salt

1 tsp sugar.

pickles4

How to…..

  • Combine beetroot, chili and turnips in a 1 litre heatproof jar.
  • Bring vinegar, salt, sugar and 325 ml water to a boil in a medium saucepan, stirring occasionally to dissolve the sugar.
  • Pour pickling liquid over the turnip mixture and let cool.
  • Cover and chill for at least 1 week before using.
  • Depending on type of beetroot and the maturity the colour will vary from pale pink to deeper pink.
  • For ultimate taste, chill for 2 weeks before consuming, if you can wait that long that it!
Just after pickling.

Just after pickling.

Should last a couple of months in the fridge. I’m told that this is the Lebanese way to pickle turnips.

The second jar in my fridge contains bread and butter pickles. A cucumber based condiment I recall making in my teens. Sweet and salty with thin slithers of onion, they liven up everything from a plate of cold cuts to a simple slice of bread and butter. Hence their name. I can’t recall the recipe I originally used in the 1980’s but this recipe from BBC Good Food works fantastically.

Snack cucumbers are ideal for bread and butter pickles.

Snack cucumbers are ideal for bread and butter pickles.

Now what to pickle next?

 

 

Leave a Reply

