Skip to content
May 6, 2016 / mintcustard

Simple salsa verde, ideal for dipping tortilla chips.

sv4

My first introduction to salsa verde came across the pond. Red salsas, whether cool medium or hot, fresh or out of a jar are very familiar to me but a green salsa surprised me. Sharp with a citrus lime tang and a serious chilli kick, once I’d tried this I had to have it again. Now that has caused a little issue as the main ingredient, Mexican green tomatoes, are hard to source in the UK. However, I found that Whole Foods stocks canned tomatillos, so I now no longer need to travel across the Atlantic to get my fix!

sv1

The recipe is amazingly simple.I’m going to try making salsa verde with green tomatoes later in the year too, just to see if it is possible.

Salsa verde

1 can Mexican green tomatoes (tomatillos) – drained

juice of half a lime

1 green chilli – chopped into chunks (take the seeds out if you want)

good pinch of sea salt.

sv2

How to ….

  • Open and drain the can of tomatillos. Place into a large jug or into the blender.
  • Add in the chilli chunks, lime juice and the salt.
  • Blitz with a stick blender or the food processor until smooth.
  • Open a pack of tortilla chips or drizzle over nachos, fajitas or pulled pork.
sv3

Margarita time!

Leave a Reply

