Skip to content
March 12, 2016 / mintcustard

Chicken and courgetti noodle soup.

Chicken and courgetti noodle soup

Chicken and courgetti noodle soup

Today the weather has warmed up but not quite warm enough for me to think of a salad on the patio. I love the way soup warms you from within but I didn’t need a hearty rib sticker, a lighter broth would do. Home made chicken noodle soup has to be one of the best comfort meals ever and it is a crime not to use up a chicken carcass to make stock. Home made stock freezes well and is incredibly versatile. The trouble today was, I didn’t have any. Not a drop. I did have some stock pots sent to me by Oxo, so I thought I’d give them a go. If you prefer to use home made stock, you will need 500 ml. As many of you will know I have been trying to be healthier recently. The changes are working and I’m now a good couple of stones lighter. I don’t have a spiraliser (my daughter at uni does, but she is away) so buying ready made courgetti from Sainsbury’s was my only option today. A few scraps of left over cooked chicken added at the end and lunch was served.

Ingredients.

500 ml hot chicken stock (mine was made with an OXO chicken stock pot with garlic and thyme)

100g courgetti (spiralised courgette/zucchini)

50g cooked chicken or mushrooms

small knob of butter

Softened courgetti.

Softened courgetti.

How to…

  • In a small pan melt the butter over a low heat.
  • Add in the courgetti and sweat down until soft but not coloured.
  • Pour over the hot stock and drop in the chicken pieces.
  • Keep over a gentle heat until the chicken is warmed through.
  • Serve in a roomy bowl, you may need a fork to twiddle the noodles.

Both the OXO stock pot and the Sainsburys courgetti worked really well. Great to have in the cupboard or fridge for a speedy but healthy lunchtime dish.

I was sent the Oxo stock pots for me to try but was not asked to use them or write a blog post in return.

 

Leave a Reply

