Skip to content
February 21, 2016 / mintcustard

Ginger, lemongrass and lime cordial.

Ginger, lemongrass and lime cordial.

Ginger, lemongrass and lime cordial.

During half term my elder daughter graciously allowed me to visit her at University. During these visits, as well as catching up with gossip and having a great deal to laugh about I am usually permitted to refill her food cupboards and fridge, take her out for coffee and to dine at restaurant outside her regular student haunts.

As the designated driver I treated myself to a slightly upmarket fizzy drink in the restaurant. It was ginger and lemongrass, It was home made and it was delicious. Now, you know me, when I got home (actually on the drive home) I was plotting and planning how to recreate it for myself. I knew it was a cordial with sparkling water added so the next day I set to work.

As this was to be a first experiment I only made a small batch but I will be making more. If you want to double the quantities then feel free. I may well also try this recipe using half and half sugar to see if I can lighten it, without losing the flavour profile. Most cordial recipes I have made in the past have used citric acid. I substituted lime juice as the spice of the ginger gives enough heat without needing to cut the sugar with the tang of citric acid. I didn’t add the peel to the cordial as I really wanted the lemongrass to come through. If you want to add it, then feel free.

I have only drunk this cold and fizzy so far, but I suspect ginger, lemongrass and lime cordial would be great warm. Either to soothe a sore throat or to ease someone fighting a stomach bug. I’m also tempted to use this as a drizzle over cakes too, or in a cocktail or two. Watch this space. There will be more cordials coming soon.

Simple ingredients

Simple ingredients

Ginger, lemongrass and lime cordial.

3″ piece of fresh ginger, peeled and sliced

1 stalk lemongrass, split and bruised

juice of 1 lime

1 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups of water

clean sterilised bottle (I put mine in the dishwasher to do this)

Large pan to allow the syrup to reduce.

Large pan to allow the syrup to reduce.

How to….

  • Place the sugar, water and lime juice into a large pan and place over a low heat until the sugar dissolves.
  • Add in the ginger and lemongrass and bring to a slow simmer.
  • Simmer gently for 20 minutes. The syrup will reduce and thicken.
  • Remove from the heat and allow to cool completely.
  • Strain and pour into the clean sterilised bottle.

To serve dilute to taste using sparkling water, over ice with a few mint leaves and a slice or two of fresh lime.

Leave a Reply

