Skip to content
November 15, 2015 / mintcustard

Goats cheese and caramelised onion toasts.

Goats cheese and caramelised onion toasts.

Goats cheese and caramelised onion toasts.

Much like Marmite, goats cheese seems to divide the nation. To be honest I really don’t mind the goaty overtones but others can’t abide it. I know, I live with some haters. Yesterday I had the house to myself. It was wet, windy and miserable so cheese on toast was my comfort food of choice. I had a secret round of goats cheese stashed away, so my mind was made up.

I decided tomake a batch of caramelised red onion jam to go under the cheese, although a jar of the bought stuff would work just as well.

I took a red onion, two tsp of olive oil and a tsp of sugar and on the lowest heat possible cooked the onion down for about half an hour until soft, sticky and unctuous. This yielded enough jam to spread on two rounds of toast. If the jam looked as if it was beginning to cook too quickly I added a tsp of water, slowing the process and encouraging an emulsion in the sauce.

Goats cheese and caramelised onion toasts.

After that it’s simple. Preheat the grill. Cut the cheese into rounds about 1.5 to 2cm thick. Take two pieces of seeded bread and toast lightly. Spread the toast with the caramelised onions. Place the goats cheese on top of the onions, cut surface upwards. Place on a baking tray under the grilland cook until the goats cheese has softened and become molten. Allow to cool a little and then tuck in.

Goats cheese and caramelised onion toast, cooling before eating.

Goats cheese and caramelised onion toast, cooling before eating.

Leave a Reply

