Skip to content
October 30, 2015 / mintcustard

Halloween purple carrot cake

purplec3

Purple and orange carrots.

At this time of the year many of the major supermarkets in the UK have heritage carrots. Mostly these are purple, although you can find yellow, white and even multicoloured ones. In the past I have used the purple carrots simply to ring the changes on our dinner plates. However, as I’m keen on cake, and I’m on a regime change, I though why not make a cake using purple carrots. We have the Dutch to thank for refining the carrot strain to bring the orange to the fore but I’m so pleased the other colours lingered on in the carrot DNA ready to pop up at unexpected moments.

Want to see what happened?

Keep scrolling.

Mixing in the grated purple carrots.

Mixing in the grated purple carrots.

I used a BBC GoodFood carrot cake recipe, which can be found here. I tweaked the recipe a little. I obviously used the purple carrots in mine. Also as I have a raisin hater I swapped the raisins in the recipe for walnut pieces, keeping the quantities the same.

purplec1

Purple carrot cake.

One other joy of this recipe is that the icing is cream cheese free. Not only does this mean the cake lasts longer but it also reduces the calorie count somewhat. Handy.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Unsmileys / Oct 30 2015 6:17 pm

    Looks delicious 🙂
    Though I don’t like purple
    Happy halloween
    ______________________________________________________________________
    Hi 🙂
    Please check out my blog http://unsmileys.wordpress.com/ & facebook page https://www.facebook.com/pages/One-and-the-same/657216377728715?fref=ts if you want 🙂 You can also join me on bloglovin.Thank you so much.It means a lot. And you have a really nice blog 🙂 Best wishes
    Happy blogging

Leave a Reply

