Skip to content
August 9, 2015 / mintcustard

Cranberry popcorn bites.

Cranberry popcorn bites.

Cranberry popcorn bites.

Every now and then, well constantly actually, I feel the need for a snack. I do enjoy a piece of fruit, some raw vegetables thrill me more than others but I love, love, love popcorn. The problem is once I start I just can’t stop. I’ve tried to recitify the issue by making less. Ha, like that’s going to work. So I’ve given up trying to cut down. It isn’t that bad for you if you balance the popcorn against other foods I suppose. The popcorn is never salted or sweetened anyway. I have a microwave steam popper that is brilliant. It came from Tchibo ages ago and I love it.  To that end there is quite a bit of popcorn knocking around Mintcustard Mansions, so perhaps it is time to use some in my recipes. These cranberry popcorn bites do contain sugar and butter but as I’ve said many times, no food is demonised on my journey from Fat to Fitter, the balance of foods I eat is what I’m busy changing.

Cranberry popcorn ingredients.

Cranberry popcorn ingredients.

Cranberry popcorn bites

1 square tin 6″ x 6″ Lined with oiled cling film.

Sufficient popped corn to fill the tin.

100g marshmallows

1 tbsp butter

1 handful of cranberries, raisins, dried mango – whatever you have. Chocolate chips, smarties, peanuts would be good too.

How to….

  • Place the marshmallows and butter in a pan over a very low heat. Melt together and stir to combine.
  • Tip in the popped corn and cranberries (or whatever you are adding in).
  • Press into the tin and leave for an hour or so to set.
Pressed into the tin ready.

Pressed into the tin ready.

  • Cut into pieces and put into a lidded container.
Cut and waiting for the kettle to be boiled.

Cut and waiting for the kettle to be boiled.

The lid is to stop me, not really to keep the popcorn bites fresh. It does help though.

 

Leave a Reply

