Skip to content
August 8, 2015 / mintcustard

Squash filled naan bread.

Squash filled naan mread.

Squash filled naan mread.

There are days when only a curry will do. Yesterday was one of those days. Not only do I love a curry I also love all the accompaniments too. Vegetables, daals, poppodums, chutneys, breads. The list could go on and on. I would go on and on eating too. Creating #fattofitter friendly dishes that don’t compromise flavour but are lighter is my mission at the moment.

I have lightened the Madhur Jaffrey recipe by halving the recipe and making smaller naan. I still had a whole naan but a mini version.  An old trick but a good one! I’ve also treated myself a little like a toddler and hidden an extra vegetable within the bread. I had some spiced onion squash left over from a salad I made earlier in the week so into the dough they went. You could use up any leftover vegetables, waste not , want not.

Hiding the vegetables in the naan bread dough.

Hiding the vegetables in the naan bread dough.

I have a pizza stone which I find makes perfect naan too. I heat the oven to the highest possible temperature with the pizza stone in the oven from the off.

Not perfect but I pushed the dough out into teardrops shapes (ish).

Not perfect but I pushed the dough out into teardrops shapes (ish).

The naan puff up and colour beautifully but a baking tray and grill would do almost as well.

Still some leftover for my lunch today too.

Still some leftover for my lunch today too.

I’m going to share this recipe with #breadysteadygo link up. It is being hosted by Jen at Jen’s food and Michelle over at Utterly Scrummy food for families.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jen @ Jen's Food / Aug 11 2015 6:42 pm

    I’ve never made my own naan breads before, I really should try them soon. Love this idea of putting the spiced squash in the bread, it makes the bread look even tastier. Thanks for sharing with #BreadySteadyGo 🙂

    • mintcustard / Aug 11 2015 8:01 pm

      Do make your own naan. They are so delicious. You could use lots of other stuffings too. I’d like to try daal filled naan next.

  2. Corina / Aug 18 2015 7:42 am

    I love naan bread but I’ve only made it myself once and never made a stuffed one. THis one looks really tasty.

    • mintcustard / Aug 18 2015 3:47 pm

      It is such a lovely recipe for the bread. You could add a whole variety of fillings. I’m tempted by some spiced potato or sweet potato too.

Leave a Reply

