Skip to content
July 28, 2015 / mintcustard

Surviving a holiday whilst trying to eat better. #fattofitter

Very simple bruschetta, tomatoes, lemon juice and a little garlic.

Very simple bruschetta, tomatoes, lemon juice and a little garlic.

Many apologies for a lack of posts at Mintcustard. I’ve taken a little break completely as I was on holiday and given my recent health blip I wanted to go away and relax completely. The trouble with holidays are that they often accompanied by indulgence and treats. But I am trying hard to change my diet and my lifestyle. How was I going to do that and still have fun?

Fresh anchovies.

Fresh anchovies.

As I have said in the past, no food should be demonised. For me, the changes I’m making are all about balance. As we were holidaying in Ischia, the sister island to Capri that few people have heard of, there would be some challenges. At a first glance Southern Italian food might seem to be carb loaded pizza, pasta wine and gelati.

Grilled octopus.

Grilled octopus.

 

Look a little further and glorious plates of seafood appear, alongside the freshest of vegetables and simple one or two ingredient dishes in the cucina povera style.

A little added fresh chilli here.

A little added fresh chilli here.

The fact that the weather was scorching, the hotel was a third of the way up the volcano and we walked everywhere meant that we were burning up calories all the time. I kept track of both my food and my exercise via an app on my phone. I swam everyday too, so the odd pizza or cold beer wasn’t a problem.

Tuna and sweet onions andded to this bruschetta.

Tuna and sweet onions added to this bruschetta.

One dish that I love and rediscovered during our trip was bruschetta.  Every restaurant, bar and nonna has their own version. Each one different and every single one I tried was delicious. Some toasted the bread, others simply warmed it with garlic. One had celery and chilli added, others were spritzed with lemon. They all had the freshest, reddest tomatoes as the star ingredient. Many were straight from a garden next to the place they wer ebeing served. Tomatoes that dripped liquid sunshine and who I suspect had never been in a fridge in their lives.

Lots of basil and garlic on untoasted ciabatta.

Lots of basil and garlic on untoasted ciabatta.

Oh, an I lost another kilo whilst we were away. Even with pizza, pasta and several sorbets being consumed too!

I have a version of bruschetta on Mintcustard but I’ll be making a new twist on this as soon as the sun comes out.

Leave a Reply

