Skip to content
July 6, 2015 / mintcustard

Red, white and blue brownies for the 4th of July.

Red, white and blue brownies for 4th of July.

Red, white and blue brownies for 4th of July.

You may have noticed from my posts on Mintcustard in the past, America and brownies tend to feature fairly regularly. So when I spotted a bag of red, white amd blue M & Ms I knew they had to but used in a tray of Independence day brownies.

I used a recipe from The Guardian for “best ever brownies.” I think I need to play around with the tin I used but the brownies were fantastic. I know I’m on a diet but a very small slice was all I needed. The M & Ms worked really well, keeping their colour and giving extra crunch to the brownies too. If you don’t have any red, white and blue chocolate beans in your kitchen then roughly chopped chocolate, fudge chunks, nuts or even salted pretzels would work just as well. One brilliant tip from the article is to plunge the base of the baking tray into iced water once the desired level of internal brownie squidge has been reached. This rapid cooling stops the cooking straight away and retains the soft interior whilst still allowing for that crisp crunchy outer layer.

Cooling down and waiting to be cut.

Cooling down and waiting to be cut.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Rae / Jul 6 2015 9:01 pm

    What a cute brownie recipe! Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

