Skip to content
June 30, 2015 / mintcustard

Summer garden soup

Summer garden soup.

Summer garden soup.

Not to be confused with fridge bottom soup where you use up as many of the odds and ends as you can, but a bright green vibrant soup that screams summer and vitality. If you follow my blog, you may have noticed that I’ve begun to change the way I eat. A wake up call from my doctor recently gave me little choice.

I have begun to focus on balancing what I eat. Nothing is banned, no food is demonised and I am not making myself feel guilty. If I fancy strawberries and cream with a little meringue crumbled over then fine but I’m making sure the strawberries are the main event with just a drizzle cream and a few meringue crumbles. After all everyone loves a strawberry during Wimbledon fortnight.

So far so good, going to get my BP checked today but I have lost 2 kg already. I have yet to feel hungry. I feel fed up that I can’t indulge but a small slice is better than none so I’m getting used to it. One big change is eating lunch. I didn’t really get round to it before, so fell into the habit of snacks and sugar and caffeine to sustain me. Now it is soup!

Summer garden soup.

1 large courgette diced,

1 onion diced

1 garlic clove crushed

150g broccoli chopped, stalks and all, just remove the really woody bits. Cut the stalks up into dice.

1 tbsp olive oil

1.25 litres of stock

How to….

  • Dice all the vegetables before you start.
  • Heat the oil in the pan and sweat down the onions until soft and a little sticky but not darkly coloured.
  • Add in the garlic and cook out the rawness.
  • Slip in the courgette and broccoli, pour in the stock and simmer for 10 minutes until the broccoli stalks have softened.
  • Cool, blitz with a stick blender and portion up.
  • Reheat the amount you want for lunch and freeze the rest. Just right to zap in the microwave atschool for lunch.

In case you are worried that this isn’t really calorifically dense enough to fill me up. Don’t worry I always add a multi seed pitta with ham or today I’m having low fat pate. You have to eat enough to lose weight, strange as that sounds.

Leave a Reply

