Skip to content
June 24, 2015 / mintcustard

Spicy carrot and lentil soup. From fat to fitter, a wake up call.

Spiced carrot and lentil soup.

Spiced carrot and lentil soup.

Hmmm. You know when a doctor looks you in the eye, takes a deep breath and says “ahh, right, well.” You pretty much know they are not going to be asking you for a chocolate fudge cake recipe.

This happened to me yesterday.

I went into the surgery with a filthy summer cold that had morphed into a chest infection. I came out with a script for blood pressure medication, a letter signing me off work for 10 days and dire warnings that if I got a headache I had to call and ambulance and go to A & E. My doctor is fantastic and I really appreciate his straight talking about my blood pressure, but I have much to think about.

Things need to change in my life if I want to fulfil all my dreams and ambitions. I will still be baking and cooking, I will still be creating recipes however alongside all this I hope to document my journey. Come along with me if you wish. I can’t promise it will be interesting but it will be tasty, (just lower in calories, fat and salt.)

I’ll let you know how I’m doing on the weight and exercise front, just generally you understand. I’d like to keep some secrets.  I hope to show you where I walk, when I walk and what I find on my travels. A dodgy knee has hampered me recently but I’m not giving myself excuses.

I’m tracking my diet using an app on my phone as I find if I don’t write a food I’ve consumed down it probably didn’t exist.In all honesty I know how to improve my well being, I simply need to get on with it. This takes time and I seem to give a great deal of my time to others. Writing these posts will help me claim time back for me.

Once again come along with me, share recipes you use that have helped you and generally be a cheerleader waving your pompoms on the days I’m going to find it tough.

Lunch as a primary teacher has to be filling and eaten with one hand as inevitably you will be marking, answering emails or acting as a referree in some dispute. Soup is portable, nutritious and if all else fails you can drink it from a mug. I used chicken stock but with vegetable stock this is a vegetarian or vegan dish.

Spiced carrot and lentil soup.

Spiced carrot and lentil soup.

Spicy carrot and lentil soup.

400g carrots grated

1 onion finely chopped

1 garlic clove finely chopped

150 g red lentils

1 tbsp curry paste (you choose, whatever is knocking about the fridge) or a chilli chopped

1 lt stock

1 tsp olive oil

How to….

  • Gently saute the onion and garlic in the oil.
  • Tip in the grated carrot and sweat down for a few minutes.
  • Stir in the curry paste, add the stock and lentils. Stir again.
  • Bring slowly to a simmer and leave to plop away under a lid for 15 minutes.
  • Allow to cool a little, use a stick blender until smooth.
  • Serve with little blob of low fat yogurt swirled in – well I can’t eat ugly food!

 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Clare / Jun 24 2015 3:46 pm

    By doing something about it & writing about it, you are over the first hurdle. Good Luck. I shall follow your ‘journey’ with interest as I could do with doing the same if I’m honest. xx

  2. rachelradiostar / Jun 24 2015 9:27 pm

    Are you reading my posts this week??!!! Xx
    I’ve been really successful in the past writing everything down. I’m now a calorie expert!
    It’s a shame I can’t always practice what I preach!

    • mintcustard / Jun 25 2015 6:53 am

      I hadn’t but I have now. Staff meetings to share next years classes and year groups are always a hoot! Those meals you composted were the reason I’ve decided to channel my energy into food that tastes great but won’t kill you!

Trackbacks

  1. Summer garden soup | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

