Skip to content
April 27, 2015 / mintcustard

Shooting star – a cocktail to celebrate Aldi turning 25.

Shooting Star cocktail.

Shooting Star cocktail.

I do love a good shop. I don’t mean the trying on of clothes, the hunt for the latest must have bag or the constant vigilance searching for the right nail varnish to match a particular outfit. No. I mean I love a good shop. Small local book shops, food shops that seem transplanted in London from other parts of the world and I even love a supermarket. I couldn’t have my shopping delivered by van every week. I love the act of food shopping. I have to confess one of my favourites is Aldi. Aldi has achieved a new record market share of 5% and remains the UKs fastest growing retailer. On a very selfish note they seem to be opening a number of new stores. As a result the journey time to my nearest store will drop very soon from 25 minutes on a good day to just about 10. Hoorah!

Aldi turns 25 this year and to celebrate Aldi has created a number of cocktails. They kindly sent me a hamper containing the ingredients for one of the cocktails, the Shooting Star.

Ingredients.

Ingredients.

Shooting Star

Vodka and fruit juice create the perfect base for a cocktail, but a dash of Prosecco adds a subtle sparkle.

Ingredients

  • 25ml Tamova Vodka
  • 25ml of raspberry juice from raspberries
  • 2.5 teaspoons of sugar
  • Valdobbiadene Prosecco Spumante DOCG, as     desired

Decoration/to serve:

  • 3 raspberries

How to:

  • Defrost half a pack of raspberries and sprinkle with sugar
  • Squeeze the juice from the raspberries and collect in the bottom of the glass
  • Add 25ml of Vodka and stir to combine
  • Gently pour the prosecco over a spoon into the glass, then add the three raspberries.
  • Sit back, raise your glass and hope for another 25 years for Aldi in the UK.

I was sent a hamper of cocktail ingredients for this post and a voucher to cover the cost of the fresh ingredients. All thoughts, opinions and photos are my own.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Ema Jones / Apr 27 2015 11:16 am

    Anything that combines vodka as an ingredient has got to be the ace.

Leave a Reply

