Skip to content
April 7, 2015 / mintcustard

Green tomato salsa.

Green tomato salsa

Green tomato salsa

During a recent trip to Nashville. I was pleasantly surprised by the lack of the usual fast food joints. Oh, there were places where you could get a pulled pork sandwich or a beer and burger fairly quickly but no real chains. One lunch time we decided to try the tacos at Nashville Street Tacos. They were just delicious. One of the stars of the meal for me were the house made salsas. I have made a red tomato salsa before but the green salsa was new to me.

Nashville Street Tacos. Home made salsas, nachos and guacamole. Delicious.

Nashville Street Tacos. Home made salsas, nachos and guacamole. Delicious.

I have a feeling tomatillo may have been involved, but as these are not easy to source in Surrey I used green tomatoes instead. It was spicy and garlicky in equal order. I have recently been sent some Black Garlic by Sainsburys to try and thought the sticky balsamic sweetness of this surprising ingredient would balance the acidity of the tomato and I was correct. Black garlic is fermented and I have fallen in love with it.More recipes to follow soon.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Green tomato salsa

1 small bunch coriander

1 green tomato chopped

Half a green pepper

juice of half a lime

Half to a whole a green chilli depending on your preference.

2 cloves of black garlic

pinch of salt

  • Use a stick blender or food processor. Blend all the ingredients together until smooth and well combined.
  • Check and adjust the seasoning or lime juice.
  • Pour into a bowl and dip, smear and dollop to your hearts content.

Sainsburys sent me a sample of black garlic to try.The recipe, photographs and opinions are my own. I was also sent a voucher to cover my time and additional ingredients.

Leave a Reply

