Skip to content
March 15, 2015 / mintcustard

Fancy some chocolate and a glass of something? Let Aldi surprise you.

Chocolate, cocktail and wine pairings.

Chocolate, cocktail and wine pairings.

I’m fond of both chocolate and alcohol so you’d think I might pair them together often. I might add cointreau to a chocolate mousse or amaretto to a tiramisu but I don’t eat pieces of actual chocolate with alcohol. Personally I blame those liqueur chocolates from my youth. You felt so grown up stealing a barrel shaped chocolate to eat but they were really quite horrid!

Imagine my relief then when I sampled the chocolates and wines kindly sent to me by Aldi.

Port and chocolate.

Port and chocolate.

The first I tried was Fletcher’s Fine Ruby Port (6.49) paired with Moser Roth 85% cocoa (1.19). The port has rich plum and damson characteristics and an almost chocolaty core. The depth in the port is equalled by the intensity of the Moser Roth 85% cocoa chocolate. They seem to bring out the best in each other. The chocolate took on an almost fruity flavour too. Really rather surprising and delicious.

Chocolate and sherry.

Chocolate and sherry.

After this I sampled the Caversham Cream Sherry (5.25) with Moser Roth dark chocolate with orange and almond. The slight nuttyness of the sherry with almost marmalade notes works very well with the chocolate. Their flavours harmonise and this results in a wonderfully smooth finish.

One of the benefits of the Moser Roth chocolates is that they come in small bars within the large pack. You have sufficient but don’t polish off the whole pack with just one glass of wine – and I’m sure you know I’m more than capable of that!

Don’t think chocolate at Easter is just for children, these pairings are just the way to give an adult at special treat at this time of year. There will be a cocktail coming soon too, on Mintcustard, watch this space.

I was sent a hamper containing chocolate and alcohol from Aldi, I was not asked for a positive review and all ideas and thoughts are my own.

Leave a Reply

