Skip to content
January 26, 2015 / mintcustard

Chilli cheese fries – a #loveyourfreezer meal

Chilli cheese fries

Chilli cheese fries

I love my freezer, but I tend to use it as an additional cupboard. I put things in and take them out again but there is always that wait in between as the food defrosts. Sainsbury’s recently asked me If I’d like to try loving my freezer a little more by using their products that can be cooked directly from frozen. I’ve never cooked this way so was ready for the challenge.

Youngest had asked for chilli, so I decided to use the frozen mince as a base for the dish. Spotting a tub of ready chopped and frozen chilli I added that to my basket as well. I often need a chilli and don’t have one or buy a pack of them and then throw several away as they go bad so this frozen chopped chilli should be a godsend.

I had planned to simply serve this with rice and sour cream but was persuaded that chilli cheese fries was a good idea so I added some oven baked wedges, a rasp or two of cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

Chilli ingredients

Chilli ingredients

Chilli cheese fries.

500g Sainsburys frozen lean mince

1 onion chopped

1 tsp Sainsburys frozen chopped red chilli

1 carton Basics chopped tomatoes

1 tsp oil

250 ml stock

grated cheese and soured cream to serve

salt and pepper to season

Wedges

1 large potato per person cut into wedges

oil

salt and pepper

How to ….

  • In a large saucepan, heat the oil and saute the onions gently.
  • Tip in the still frozen mince and stir until browned.
  • Stir in the chopped tomatoes, stock and chilli. Cook gently for at least half an hour until the chilli has thickened and reduced.
  • Heat the oven to 220c
  • On an oiled tray spread out the wedges and bake for 25 minutes until crisp and golden.
  • Serve the chilli over the wedges, add the cheese, sour cream and BINGO!

This is a speedy and tasty supper. The mince is more grainy than unfrozen mince but still tasty. The frozen chopped red chilli may well become a permanent fixture in  my freezer from now on.

I was not asked by Sainsburys to give a positive review but I was given vouchers to cover the cost of ingredients.

Leave a Reply

