Skip to content
January 13, 2015 / mintcustard

Rosemary and potato sourdough.

Rosemary potato sourdough loaf.

Rosemary potato sourdough loaf.

Older girl introduced me to the breads from Gails Bakery recently. Her two favourites are sweet potato and goats cheese flatbread and a rosemary and potato sourdough. I have to agree they are delicious, but sadly the closest place that sells these delights is a seven mile drive away from our house. Time to revive Fanny, my sourdough starter and experiment. I love plain sourdoughs so the time was right to push the envelope and try a few new flavour and ingredient combinations.

Searching the web I came across this recipe for Rosemary and potato sourdough. I don’t need industrial quantities so I used a third of the recipe, giving me an adequately sized loaf for all our needs. I’d rather bake more often than have slightly stale bread. The resulting loaf is sweet, light and delicately perfumed. If you make sourdough then try this recipe. If you have never made sourdough have a go, the results will surprise and excite you.

Leave a Reply

