Skip to content
January 6, 2015 / mintcustard

Sweet potato loaf cake.

Sweet potato loaf cake.

Sweet potato loaf cake.

I love baking, but I did think that I’d try this January to make my bakes a little more healthy. I have made carrot cake and beetroot cake, I’ve added pumpkin and tomato to my breads but I feel it is time to push the envelope and experiment just a little more.

I love sweet potatoes and I had originally thought to use them in a bread recipe inspired by Gails bakery, but my sourdough needs revitalising, so a cake it had to be.

I reasoned that Sweet potato puree would probably have a similar texture and moisture profile to pumpkin puree, so I used a favourite pumpkin loaf cake recipe from Simon Rimmer and tweaked it.

The texture what you’d expect for a loaf cake. The roasting of the sweet potato gives the cake an almost maple syrup flavour. This is going to become a favourite.

Ingredients

  • 500g  unpeeled sweet potato (roasted and pureed – see How to…)

  • 100g/3½oz unsalted butter

  • 300g/10½oz soft light brown sugar

  • 2 free-range eggs

  • 4 tbsp milk
  • 500g/1lb 2oz self-raising flour

  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda

  • ½ tsp each ground ginger and nutmeg

How to …

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4. Grease and line a 900g/2lb loaf tin.
  2. Wrap the sweet potato in foil and place in a roasting tray . Roast for 50 minutes. Remove from the roasting tray and set aside to cool. Remove the sweet potato skin. Blend the sweet potato in a food processor until smooth.
  3. Lower the temperature to 160c.
  4. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, milk and sweet potato and stir until well combined.
  5. Stir in all the dry ingredients and place the mixture into the loaf tin. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Use a skewer to check the cake is cooked in the centre. It should come out clean. Remove the tin from the oven. Once cool remove the loaf from the tin.

Which vegetables have you baked with? Have you got any recipes I could try? I’m thinking parsnip next.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. mmbishop94 / Jan 6 2015 10:05 pm

    Looks great!

Leave a Reply

