Skip to content
December 22, 2014 / mintcustard

Egg nog, no I’ve never had it before either!

Egg Nog with a rasp of nutmeg.

Egg Nog with a rasp of nutmeg.

Well, I have had the flavouring in a cup of frothy coffee from a large chain, but never proper home made egg nog. As only my daughter and I were drinking it, I didn’t want huge quantities. I also am trying to cut out the cream before Christmas itself as I WILL be indulging over the holidays, so this is an amalgamation of a number of recipes I found online. It may not be truly authentic but it tasted divine.

As Aldi Uk had kindly sent me a variety of spirits to use in Christmas cocktails I spiced up my egg nog with a shot or two of Aldi’s Hopking rum. Having made Egg Nog once I am certain it will become a tradition at Mintcustard Mansions from now on.

Egg Nog ingredients.

Egg Nog ingredients.

Egg nog ingredients

100 ml double cream

1/2 pint of milk (semi skimmed is fine.)

25g sugar

2 eggs separated

2 shots of rum

cinnamon

nutmeg

vanilla

How to …

  • Separate the eggs. Whisk together the egg yolks and sugar until pale and frothy.
  • In a small pan warm the milk and cream with the spices and the rum. Just as it begins to get small bubbles at the edge of the pan, take off the heat and allow to cool.
  • Once cooled a little strain the milk into the egg yolks. Return to the pan and heat until the mixture coats the back of a wooden spoon. Take off the heat.
  • Whisk the egg white until stiff peaks. Fold into them into the warm custardy mix. Pour into a thick glass, add a rasp of nutmeg.
  • Let Christmas begin.

 

Disclaimer: I was sent a selection of spirits to try by Aldi UK. I was also sent a voucher to cover the cost of additional ingredients. I was not asked to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

