Skip to content
December 15, 2014 / mintcustard

Hot toddy marshmallows

Sainsbury's marshmallow kit.

Sainsbury’s marshmallow kit.

I love home made marshmallows. I have made several variations (mulled wine, candy cane) in the past, as well as recipes that use them such as home made Tunnocks tea cakes. So when Sainsburys offered me the opportunity to try their Marshmallow kit I was intrigued.

Now of course I wasn’t going to just make the basic plain vanilla version. I like to take my marshmallows to the max. Feeling a little fuzzy headed I decided that a hot toddy was exactly what I needed, so that was the flavour of marshmallows I made.

Hot toddy marshmallows.

Hot toddy marshmallows.

You need one Sainsbury’s marshmallow kit. Cinnamon sticks, lemon, ginger beer (a good one!) and whisky.

Following the kit instructions make up your marshmallows. I made the hot toddy first and then used it to replace the water in the kit. The whisky cooks out as you heat it so these are not particularly alcoholic. Leaving out the whisky would still make a very tasty marshmallow. The cinnamon stick and a strip of lemon peel is popped into the syrup as it heats and that imparts the flavour beautifully.

Cinnamon stick infusing.

Cinnamon stick infusing.

One suggestion I would add is to use more cornflour and icing sugar to line your pan as marshmallows are sticky my their very nature. Also Sainsburys suggest you use an 8″ by 8″ pan but don’t appear to sell them in my local (very large) store! A 9 x 9 worked just as well.

marsh2

Decorated with a little edible silver leaf, bagged up and tied with ribbon, these kits are really very, very easy to use and taste great. Thank you Sainsburys for letting me try the kit out.

Disclosure – I was sent the kit to try and a voucher to compensate for the cost of additional ingredients. I was not asked to write a positive review. All photos are my own.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Hello, Scarlett Blog / Dec 15 2014 2:58 pm

    Great recipe post today! I also have a similar one!

    Love your blog. :-)))


    Emory
    http://helloscarlettblog.com/2014/12/15/a-bloggers-dozen-drinking-fine-chocolate-liv-a-lil-chocolate

Leave a Reply

