Skip to content
December 14, 2014 / mintcustard

Saying “yes” and what happened next!

So, in October I turned 50. I hated it.

Now I have realised I can’t do anything about it so I’m going to embrace it.

Several things happened. I have begun to be more assertive. Life is to short to play games. Say it if you mean it, and keep quiet if you don’t. My bullshit-O-meter has become very sensitive. I have a very low tolerance for charlatans and phonys it appears. I have also decided to say “yes” more often. Even when my head is screaming “Nooooooo!” I’ve tried to let the default answer be “yes”, especially in situations where I know I’m out of my comfort zone.

I certainly won’t do anything illegal, I probably won’t do anything immoral but I will definately do anything fattening! I have made the decision not to regret missed opportunities because I won’t be missing them.

Click the image to see the interview.

Click the image to see the interview.

And why share this with the world? Well, on Monday one such opportunity arose. Following on from The Food Poverty Inquiry report, Baroness Jenkins made an off the cuff remark that “Poor people don’t know how to cook”. I followed the ensuing Hoo Haa in the papers and online with interest. A pity that an unscripted remark got in the way of the discussion we needed to have over the huge crisis Britain finds itself in regarding Food Poverty and food waste.

Then the phone rang.

Sky News. For me. Were they sure they had the right person? Apparently so.  As a writer on Food Waste, would I be interviewed on the live 7.30 news and respond to the issues raised? My head kicked in with “Noooooo!” but my mouth then said “yes”. Despite a serious dose of Imposter syndrome in the car up to the studios, I went. In real life I’m a Primary school teacher so my world revolves around term times, meetings and finding a clean cup in the staff room cupboard. I’ve been interviewed before but this was peak time TV.

Would I do it again? In a heartbeat. Should you stop saying no and then regretting it? Hell yes! As Eleanor Roosevelt famously said, “Do one thing every day that scares you.” You won’t regret it.

If you want to hear what I said then the link to the intervew is here.

Becky Thorn Sky News Interview

 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kavey / Dec 14 2014 10:58 am

    Well said, Becky, and I think you came across really really well.

  2. ciaraattwell / Dec 14 2014 11:04 am

    Amazing. Well done!

  3. Sally / Dec 14 2014 11:12 am

    Good for you. As for imposter syndrome, if anyone should be interviewed it’s someone like you who is working with the very people the politicians are representing (or mis-representing). BTW I love being 50 🙂

  4. mintcustard / Dec 14 2014 11:25 am

    Thank you, I am now enjoying being 50 too @Sally!

  5. An Embarrassment of Freedom / Dec 14 2014 3:18 pm

    Well done. I think food banks should also distribute some tools/cooking demos of basic skills for cooking real food as maybe there is a need. I know how to cook as I grew up on a farm and we used our own produce, meat and learned about preserving it for ” the winter” here in Canada. However, when I was working full time it became a different sort of cooking as it needed to be fast and easy. My adult son really didn’t learn enough about real cooking from me when he was little as I made the meals for him and now he eats out too much. Goodness me, it’s not too late for him to learn more about cooking!

Leave a Reply

