Skip to content
July 27, 2014 / mintcustard

Blackberry and apple batter cake.

Blackberries!

Blackberries!

I’m really lucky, whilst I don’t live in a rural idyl, I have plenty of open spaces in which to forage. Especially for my favourite fruit, blackberries. It may just be my imagination but I really do think they are arriving on the bushes earlier and earlier. Counterintuitively, brambles I picked in the past as a child were woody and more pip than pulp, but the luscious blackberries in my “secret location”, are fat, juicy and sweet.

I will be making some blackberry gin, apple and blackberry swirls and probably an blackberry rippled apple sorbet but today I felt like making a batter cake. My mum used to make a dutch apple batter cake, so of course I added my own twist and made blackberry and apple cake instead.

The blackberries sink so don't panic!

The blackberries sink so don’t panic!

I don’t have my mum’s recipe so I have used a variation of a Rachel Allen recipe. Please follow the link to find the recipe as I will not be posting her recipe on Mintcustard as it isn’t mine to do that with!

Look, there they are.

Look, there they are.

My variation uses only 1 apple and replaces the second apple with two good handfuls of blackberries.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Mud cakes and wine / Jul 27 2014 9:11 pm

    Yummy

Leave a Reply

