Skip to content
July 12, 2014 / mintcustard

Bavette steak for tea!

Bavette for tea!

Bavette for tea!

This is much less of a post than an exhortation. Keep your eyes open even on a regular trip around the supermarket and you may just come home with the ingredients for a gem of a dish.

A few days ago this is exactly what happened to me. I’d dropped the teen off at work and went for a mooch around the Waitrose local to her. Several items almost made it into my basket but thenI spotted some bavette steak. And it was very inexpensive!

I was taken back to our family trips to France as a child. My dad ordering bavette and chips. I’d be eating a huge plate of salade de tomates. Someone would have mussels, there would probably be a big green salad and almost certainly a big bowl of langoustine.

Bavette needs to be cooked quickly. I used my cast iron skillet as it retains it’s heat well. A tiny dab of oil on the bavette just to prevent it sticking and then plenty of seasoning.

Seasoned bavette waiting to be flash fried.

Seasoned bavette waiting to be flash fried.

Cook the bavette quickly and over a high heat. 4 minutes on the first side, turn add a knob of butter and cook for a further 2 to 3 minutes on the second side. This cut needs to be eaten rare and rested well. Rest for at least 5minutes. This gave me time to saute a pile of ready cooked boiled potatoes I had popped in the fridge for just such an occasion. In a nod to my family holidays of the past I also served a big plate of salade de tomates too.

The younger teen was very impresed. It was one of the best pieces of steak she has ever eaten apparently, and believe me she has tried quite a few!

Have you had bavette before? What are your favourite but rarer cuts of meat? How do you cook them?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Annabel (gaskella) / Jul 12 2014 4:41 pm

    Is bavette the same as hanger steak? If so, I love it – great taste done really rare, needs a good chew though. Never seen it in a supermarket though so will check out W’rose next time.

  2. mintcustard / Jul 12 2014 11:16 pm

    I think it might be. The pieces we bought were not chewy at all. A proper meaty taste too
    .

  3. downmyfront / Jul 13 2014 8:54 pm

    I had some a couple of weeks ago in a pub/restaurant in Leamington Spa. I came home raving about it as the best steak I’d had in a long time.., I will certainly look in Waitrose!

Leave a Reply

