Skip to content
May 5, 2014 / mintcustard

A two tier chocolate birthday cake.

Two tier marble cake.

Two tier marble cake.

I do bake often, but much of my baking is consumed straight away in this house. I am not particularly gifted when it comes to decorating cakes so only my children and husband have ever been the recipients of my birthday cake making. Last year I made OH  my most sophisticated cake so far, a Crystal Palace FC cake. I was surprised then to be asked by my lovely Mother in law to be asked to make a cake for her special birthday this weekend. I said yes, and then panicked when I discovered the cake was to feed 40 and I had a free hand in the design! I knew a fruit cake was out of the question as at least three of the siblings don’t eat dried fruit. A substantial marble cake in two layers was the answer. As I was making a large cake I used triple the quantity below, and baked it in a ten inch and an eight inch pan.

The party was a lovely family affair, a  special day for a special lady.

 

Ready to sing "Happy Birthday"

Ready to sing “Happy Birthday”

Marble cake

3 large eggs – weighed

weight of eggs in butter

weight of eggs in caster sugar

weight of eggs in self raising flour

vanilla extract

1 tbsp cocoa

2 tbsp milk

How to

  • Pre heat the oven to 160c.
  • Line a 20cm cake tin.
  • Cream together the butter and sugar until it is pale and fluffy.
  • Add in the eggs one at a time, with a tbsp of flour after each egg to prevent curdling.
  • Fold in the remaining flour.
  • Divide the batter into two bowls. Add 1 tbsp milk and vanilla to one bowl and cocoa and 1 tbsp milk to the other.
  • Fill the cake tin with alternating dollops of cake batter. Swirl the different flavours together with a skewer.
  • Bake for 35 to 45 minutes until a skewer comes out clean. Cool in the tin for 10 minutes and then place on a wire rack to cool completely before icing.

Decoration.

To be honest a good dusting of icing sugar will do. I roughly iced the cake with a simple butter cream and then surrounded the cake with chocolate finger biscuits, alternating white and milk chocolate. The top was decorated with white chocolate buttons and maltesers. As I had a second tier the cake was supported internally with wide plastic drinking straws (bought in Ikea) to hold the top to the bottom.  The final florish came from maltesers that were mounted on fine gauge florists wire and left to dangle.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lynette Noni / May 5 2014 10:10 am

    Yum!!

  2. Lavender Bakery / May 5 2014 5:59 pm

    Fabulous cake and it looks delicious, love that you can eat it from the outside in!

  3. Foodie Laura / May 7 2014 6:02 am

    I love the white and milk chocolate fingers for the edging, It looks fab.

    • mintcustard / May 7 2014 6:03 am

      Thank you, it was an easy solution to my lack of decorating skills!

Leave a Reply

