Skip to content
January 20, 2014 / mintcustard

Banana crumble bars – with additional treats of your choice!

banana crumble bars

Back to work after the Christmas break has resulted in a degree of belt tightening for all. I have long used supermarket own brand goods as they help bring the cost of a shop down no end. The Basics range by Sainsburys offers goods that are both kind to the budget and responsibly sourced. Not only that but I especially like the fruit and veg basics as they are so much less uniform in shape and colour giving me, the cook, more control over  for example the size of onion  I use in a dish. Rather than having to only use half an huge one and cling film the rest, I can pick and choose the right one for the recipe.

Banana crumble bar ingredients

Banana crumble bar ingredients

I have been asked to share some of the recipes I have made using the Sainsburys Basics range so over the coming few days that’s exactly what I’ll be doing.

With a household constantly on the go and a New Years resolution to eat better packed lunches I have been trying hard to create tasty treats that fill you up but don’t break the bank. Banana crumble bars might just be that treat. I have used and adapted a Rachel Allen recipe for the oaty crust but the filling is all my own. You can use up odds and ends in the baking cupboard, (Oh yes I have one of those, don’t we all?) by tipping in goodies such as a few chocolate chips, the end of a bag of nuts or a handful of raisins to the mashed banana.

6″ x 11″ tin lined with baking parchment

Filling

  • 3 Basics bananas mashed
  • A handful of chocolate chips, chopped walnuts, raisins or a combination of all three.

Biscuit base and topping

  • 175g Basics plain flour
  • 175g  soft brown sugar
  • 175g Basics salted butter,
  • 100g porridge oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • pinch of salt

Topping

  • 1 Basics bar of milk, plain or white chocolate.

Heat the oven to 350f/gas mark 4/ 180°

Line the tin with baking parchment

In a bowl add all the dry ingredients and mix well, add the butter and rub into the dry ingredients with your fingers (the same way you would with a crumble).

Crumble base

Crumble base

Add half the mixture to the bottom of your prepared  tin, then spread on the mashed banana and treat mix (the back of a dessert spoon works well) over the base, finally add the rest of the mixture and press over the top of the pulp with your fingers.photo 2 (8)

Mashed banana and butterscotch choc chips

Mashed banana and butterscotch choc chips

Bake on the middle shelf of your oven and cook for 40 mins, until golden brown. 

Leave to cool inside the tin. Once cooled cut into slices, I manage to get 16 generous slices.

If you wish, melt the chocolate in a bowl over a pan of hot water, drizzle the melted chocolate over the bars, lick your fingers, wait for the bars to cool. Place in a tin as these are very, very moreish!

baked and sliced bars

I was sent a Sainsburys Gift card to cover the cost of the ingredients used in this and the following posts.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lauren / Jan 22 2014 12:04 am

    Hello
    These look delicious, do you know if they freeze well?
    Thanks
    Lauren 🙂

    • mintcustard / Jan 24 2014 8:15 pm

      Hi Lauren, sorry I’ve taken a few days to reply but I popped some into the freezer to test! I had my defrosted bar for lunch today and it was absolutely fine. I’ll be freezing some myself next time I make them.

      • Lauren / Jan 26 2014 10:52 am

        Brilliant, thank you very much for testing! I’m going to give these a go this morning 🙂 somehow I’m not sure if they’ll make it to the freezer! 😉

      • mintcustard / Jan 26 2014 10:55 am

        Good luck, I only had a few to freeze!

      • Lauren / Jan 26 2014 1:45 pm

        Omg! They’re delicious! 🙂 Thank you

Trackbacks

  1. Shortbread hearts for your Valentine. | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

