Skip to content
November 17, 2013 / mintcustard

Chocolate orange brownies

For some strange reason which I have yet to fathom I have not felt much like cooking recently. I have of course kept going with the daily feeding of the gannets at Mintcustard Mansions but couldn’t really be bothered with doing anything else. These periods of inertia strike me from time to time, and I find it is better to go with it rather than force the issue.

The fog has lifted.

Reader, yesterday I baked.

Terry's Chocolate Orange brownies

Terry’s Chocolate Orange brownies

And what way to start again. I have a cupboard full of baking ingredients, including some I brought back from my recent foray to the USA, and I will blog about those later this week but I saw something as I did my weekly shop that really caught my eye.

These! 

The fact that Sainsbury’s had these bags for just £1 instead of  £2 made it even better. I have used and adapted the Creme egg brownie recipe by Eric Lanlard as the base of this recipe.

Ingredients:

150gr unsalted butter cut in small cubes, 200gr chopped chocolate, 100ml fresh orange juice, 250gr  caster sugar, 3 medium eggs, 100gr plain flour,  135g bag of Terry’s chocolate orange minis

 

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180c. Grease and line a brownie tray with butter and baking paper.
  2. In a heat proof bowl melt the chocolate and butter over a pan of simmering water – make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water.
  3. When all melted out of the bain marie stir in the sugar and orange juice.
  4. Beat the eggs with a fork and mix them into the mixture. When smooth fold in the sieved flour.
  5. Turn the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 15min. Remove from the oven and lay on the chocolate orange slices.
  6. Put back in the oven for another 10mins until the mixture is set, but still a bit sticky.
  7. Leave to cool completely before slicing in squares, devour.

They are not Terry’s they’re mine!

Leave a Reply

