Skip to content
September 23, 2013 / mintcustard

Chocolate Marshmallow Teacake traybake – Tunnocks in a tin!

Teacake traybake!

Teacake traybake!

Humour me please but I dreamed about this tray-bake before it came into being. I am not delusional, I am just sooooooo greedy that I dream about cake!

I have made my own Home made Tunnocks tea cakes in the past. They were delicious but fiddly and whilst I was at the Cake and Bake show in London I saw some silicone moulds that would make life easier, however in the crush and throng I didn’t make it back to the stall to purchase the moulds. When I did finally realise I’d forgotten to buy them I was on the District line whizzing my way back home. Never mind I resolved to get them online later that evening.

As you can imagine later that evening slowly morphed into sometime soon and then became next week. With a teen off to University the following week life was hectic enough without searching for baking gadgets. If you are anything like me a five minute search turns into a hour of lusting after gadgets you just don’t have cupboard space for.

So I forgot about the moulds and the teacakes. Or maybe I didn’t. A combination of a slight fever and the tray-bakes episode of GBBO obviously set my subconscious racing. In my slightly febrile state I dreamed about a biscuit based, jam and marshmallow filled, chocolate covered traybake. A teacake in slice form. No moulds, no tempering and no need to find space in the cupboard for more baking equipment. Genius, if I say so myself.

The recipe for the base is one I have used for Millionaires shortbread in the past.

Line a 6″ by 10″ tin with baking parchment.

Biscuit base

  • 75g caster sugar
  • 175g soft butter
  • 225g plain flour

How to

  • Preheat the oven to 150c.
  • Tip all the ingredients into a bowl, use your hands to combine them together until the mixture begins to clump. Slide the mixture into the lined baking tray and press down with the back of a spoon.
  • Prick the surface of the dough with a fork and then bake for 35 to 40 minutes until golden.

teacake4

  • Remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin.

Once cool, spread the biscuit base with a layer of jam. I prefer something seedless but that may just be my age!

Shortbread and jam waiting for the marshmallow.

Shortbread and jam waiting for the marshmallow.

Now make your marshmallow. you could cheat with a jar of fluff if you want at this stage but the finished tray-bake will be much squidgier. Use my recipe here for Marshmallows. Pour the marshmallow onto the jammy biscuit base and leave to set. Once set, top with  200g of melted  milk chocolate. Leave to harden, slice and serve. Indeed the stuff of dreams.

Im entering this into the We should cocoa challenge as it s marshmallows this month. It was originally set up by Choclette at The chocolate log blog, and this month is being hosted by Rebecca at Bake n Quilt.

Use a hot knife to cut through the chocolate.

Use a hot knife to cut through the chocolate.

 

 

 

 

 

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. riversidebaking / Sep 24 2013 7:53 am

    Awesome! I love them, I’ll have to give these a go, you should also enter them into the #gbbo bakealong here: http://bakersanonymous.com/2013/09/the-great-british-bake-off-week-5/ x

    • mintcustard / Sep 24 2013 9:11 am

      Thank you, I have entered them into the #GBBO bakealong. Glad you love them.

  2. laura_howtocook / Sep 24 2013 9:07 am

    This is the stuff of dreams and I think your fever helped you to discover this very clever tray bake idea, so much better than a Tunnocks!

    • mintcustard / Sep 24 2013 9:11 am

      They are really rather tasty. Better than a Tunnocks as the chocolate is thicker!

  3. Rebecca / Aug 15 2014 5:30 pm

    Those look scrumptious! Thanks for joining We Should Cocoa this month.

  4. Choclette / Aug 31 2014 6:30 pm

    Yes, the stuff of dreams indeed – I am lusting after this good and proper now. Thanks (I think) for sharing this with We Should Cocoa 🙂

    • mintcustard / Aug 31 2014 6:57 pm

      A pleasure! You WILL thank me I’m sure.

Trackbacks

  1. Candy Cane Marshmallows and popcorn balls. | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

