Skip to content
September 9, 2013 / mintcustard

Sourdough crumpets made with my excess starter.

Untidy but delicious pikelets.

Untidy but delicious pikelets.

A collision of two awareness campaigns gives my blog post today a little more shape. Not that I need a reason to post but you know, I often find I sometimes need a push in a certain direction. You may well be aware that I make a big effort not to waste food, I love to forage if I can and I am certainly all about food for free. I have posted a number of blackberry recipes with my purple stained bramble scratched picking fingers. I’m on the lookout for elderberries and sloes at the moment too.

I save my excess starter in a jar.

I save my excess starter in a jar.

Another food for free that I have been cultivating for the past year or so is Fanny my sourdough starter. Using just the yeast from the air she was born and now she lives and breathes. The bread we make together is sublime, but I do hate to throw away part of her every day she grows and multiplies. I have frozen some, dehydrated more and given away lots but there comes a point when scraping her into the food waste bin is the only option. NOT ANY MORE.

Whilst looking for recipes to extend my repertoire during Sourdough September I happened to come across a recipe for crumpets. I have made crumpets previously using conventional yeast, although true to my love of wasting less I used old tuna cans rather than crumpet rings to from the crumpets. This sourdough recipe is not only much quicker but also utilises the excess starter that would otherwise go to waste. Excellent, what a way to champion both Sourdough September and zero waste week, and have a splendid breakfast into the bargain. This crumpet recipe from King Arthur Flour is very speedy so I decided on pikelets rather than crumpets purely on the grounds of greed.

They were made and eaten in a flash, with butter and home made bramble jelly they were divine.

How to…….

To the cup of starter you have in your  bowl, sprinkle over the surface 1 teaspoon of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and baking soda. Whisk these in thoroughly and watch what happens. Voom! Chemistry at work producing millions of carbon dioxide bubbles to leaven these pancakes.

The starter begins to foam.

The starter begins to foam.

If you have crumpet rings (about 1 inch high and 4 inches in diameter — clean tuna cans with tops and bottoms removed will work fine, as I have said previously), grease them lightly and place them on a lightly greased spider or skillet. Fill the rings with about 1/4 inch of batter and cook it over low heat until the tops are set and full of holes. Remove the rings and flip the crumpets over for a minute or two. I was far too impatient so I made pikelets, free form crumpets, the taste is the same but the lack of a uniform look would give Paul Hollywood nightmares!

Pikelets cooking on the griddle.

Pikelets cooking on the griddle.

After they’ve finished cooking on the griddle stockpile them and then pop them under the grill to brown and crisp. Serve them with butter and whatever jam you’ve put up this season. You can also cool them, bag them, and freeze them to bring out and toast later.

Sourdough doughnuts are my next challenge. Anyone recommend a recipe for those please?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel Radiostar / Sep 12 2013 5:08 am

    My HG is ready prepped to give birth to his sourdough starter ( as yet un named ) but we have the technology ( ok, the brand spanking new Kilner jar ) poised and ready! The grapes we bought were eaten by a grazing teen. So like expectant parents we are just waiting for the right time! But these crumpets are a definite. I made conventional ones once!

    • mintcustard / Sep 12 2013 6:19 am

      Oooh good luck with the new arrival! Sourdough crumpets are delicious, hope you can enjoy them soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Hot buttered crumpets. | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

