Skip to content
August 9, 2013 / mintcustard

Gin O’clock

I blame my dad. I blame him for my cankles, my love of lardy cake and most importantly for this post my love of a good gin and tonic.
He, of course, along with many of his generation, favoured a Gordon’s gin with a slice of lemon, an ice cube and topped up with Schweppes slimline tonic.
So I started with Gordon’s, had a brief flirtation with Plymouth and eventually settled with Bombay Sapphire. Yesterday all that changed.

Why? You may ask. Don’t worry answering, it’s rhetorical otherwise, this post goes nowhere.

You know those twitter competitions, the ones which ask you to follow and RT, as you could win your body weight in dishwasher tablets? Well I entered one of those and I won. Not dishwasher tablets but something far more useful to me, 6 (six) bottles of Williams Chase gin.

The bottles themselves are beautiful, a dark green at the base of the bottle that graduates up to a very pale green hue, topped by a wax and ribbon sealed cork that was a thrill to open.

This entirely British gin is make in Herefordshire, from the family’s own vodka. What makes this gin stand out are the botanicals. Juniper, yes of course but for me the cardamom and cinnamon overtones were what made it magical. Topped up with Fever Tree tonic and embelished with a slice of lime and I was hooked. I will be making an apple martini as suggested on the bottle too.

A lovely lovely gin. A wonderful discovery and one of the best prizes I’ve ever won.

Thank you Williams Chase gins.

20130809-212836.jpg

20130809-221136.jpg

  • Advertisements

    5 Comments

    Leave a Comment
    1. gaskella / Aug 9 2013 9:30 pm

      I’m glad you used a proper tonic too! Lucky you.

      • mintcustard / Aug 9 2013 9:32 pm

        Oh yes, wasn’t going to spoil the gin with an inferior tonic, almost as important as the spirit itself.

      • mintcustard / Aug 9 2013 9:34 pm

        When you are next here you must try some. I doubt I’ll run out by then.

    2. downmyfront / Aug 10 2013 6:44 am

      Thats my christmas list sorted..i will be googling that straight away!

      • mintcustard / Aug 10 2013 6:51 am

        I think it is delicious, my husband is not so sure but that is fine, more for me!

    Leave a Reply

