Skip to content
June 11, 2012 / mintcustard

Mocha bourbon biscuits

If there is one thing I love more that a cup of tea it’s a biscuit to go with it. I have recently made my own version of Tunnock’s tea cakes and am very much in favour of a flapjack, but when it comes to something to go with my cuppa I’m very pedestrian. Pass me a custard creme or a Bourbon and I’ll be chuffed to bit. This got me thinking, I could make my own Bourbons. Then I remembered coming across the We should cocoa bloggers challenge. Established by chocolate teapot and  chocolate log blog and hosted this month by Lucy at The Kitchen Maid.  Lucy chose coffee as her added ingredient. Hhmmm, an idea! What about mocha bourbons, so folks that is what I did.

For the biscuit itself I used the recipe so brilliantly written by Tania at The larger Family life blog. As her family is three times the size of mine I used a half quantity of her biscuit mix. (see what I did there!) This still made me 15 filled bourbons. About a packets worth, and plenty to fill the biscuit tin for a few days. rolling the dough between two layers of parchment paper gave the dough a smooth finish and prevented it from needing to be floured too much, as I find this can make the dough more friable. I used a 6″ ruler, the kind that comes in children’s 99p geometry sets as a template for the biscuits themselves. Each biscuit being 6cm long and a ruler width across.

The filling for the biscuits is simply a coffee butter cream. I used 100g butter, whipped until very fluffy. In a cup I mixed 1 dessert-spoon of instant coffee with 1 tsp of boiling water. Mix well and allow to cool. Whip the coffee mixture into the butter. Add icing sugar until the butter cream is to your taste. I wanted to pipe the mixture so kept the butter creme fairly soft. Pipe a zigzag of butter-creme on half of the biscuits. Sandwich together and leave, if you can.  to allow the buttercream to harden.

Put the kettle on, your feet up and treat yourself to a nice cup of tea, a biscuit and a sit down.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Choclette / Jun 12 2012 7:00 am

    Fantastic, just love how you are recreating these classic biscuits. Bourbons are my favourite and yours look fabulous, although I would prefer mine without the coffee. Thanks for joining in with WSC – lovely entry.

  2. The Kitchenmaid / Jun 12 2012 6:52 pm

    Those look amazing – such precision! I am hopeless at anything as neat and tidy as that, so I am always in awe of people who can make things look so perfect. That ruler trick is pretty nifty though, maybe I could manage that! Thanks so much for joining in #weshouldcocoa this month, lovely to find your blog.

  3. mintcustard / Jun 13 2012 5:47 pm

    Just a ruler and a sharp knife. I’m not a neat freak either but there is a great deal of pleasure to be had from getting these right. Mind you if they were all wonky they would still taste the same. Rt=ather great if I say so myself!

Trackbacks

  1. Home made jaffa cakes « mintcustard
  2. Home made Tim Tams « mintcustard
  3. A biscuit bonanza. Getting ready for biscuit week on #GBBO | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

