Skip to content
June 7, 2012 / mintcustard

Home made Tunnock’s tea cakes.

If you were lucky Tunnock’s tea cakes might have made the occasional appearance at the Sunday tea table. Not in my house though. At the time I’d have given my right arm for a foil wrapped cake but my Mum wasn’t having any of it. She made cakes rather than bought them. However much I lusted after a fondant fancy, desired a mini roll or craved an individual apple pie, I knew deep down it wasn’t going to happen. With the benefit of hindsight and (some but not too much) maturity I am eternally grateful to my Mum for both the cake making skills and the recipes she has passed on to me but at the time, Oh My Word,how  I wished at the age of ten, that I was related to Mr Kipling!

So why have these tea time treats suddenly loomed large in my life again? I have been playing about with the idea of marshmallows recently following my Royal marshmallows post. As magnificent as they are you can only eat about half your body weight in them before feeling a little on the over indulgent side. What could i do with the rest? I toyed with the idea of rice crispy treats, rocky road bars or ice cream and even s’mores. Then I recalled the snap and squidge of biting into a Tunnock’s tea cake.

I was sure it must be possible to create a home made version of this iconic delicacy. Biscuit, marshmallow, jam  and chocolate – simples! Short cuts could be takes, ready made biscuits, bought marshmallows and cheap jam. But, it is the half term holidays and I am on occasions a masochist so…..

Biscuits

My go to crisp biscuit is one I found on the Good Food website. They have a snap and a buttery vanilla taste that was exactly what I needed in this recipe. I used half the quantity of the finished dough and popped the rest in the freezer for another time. I made 24 biscuits, rolled out to the thickness of a £1 coin. I used a 5cm fluted cutter but to be honest a floured tumbler would work just as well. Biscuit recipe

Next a topping of marshmallow is needed. My Royal marshmallows recipe was the one I used here obviously. I just needed to find a way to get the mallow onto the base. Should I use a piping bag? Was a spoon a good idea? Could I use a silicone mould? In the end I settled for stamping out circles using a shot glass, a technique I use to put the holes into doughnuts too! It also means the remaining pieces of marshmallow can legitimately be eaten as cook’s perks.

Each mallow was stuck to the base with a blob of strawberry jam. I used Tiptree’s strawberry and champagne conserve because I had some in the fridge. Next time I may well make a strawberry toffee to do the same job.

Once built, each naked tea cake was enrobed on far too much chocolate and embellished on top with a sprinkle of Waitrose new freeze dried strawberries. I have had them in the cupboard for a few days and was waiting to find a way to use them. I may also stir them through the mallow next time to just up the ante on these tea cakes a little.

Right, off to toast a crumpet, make a pot of tea and have a tea cake. Now, anyone know where I can get some foil wrappers to make the whole experience complete?

I’d like to enter this into the Tea Time treats round up for June, which is summer fruits but I’m not sure a big blob of jam and a few freeze dried strawberries counts but let us see. I’ll ask Kate of What Kate Baked what she thinks!

Calendar Cakes Challenge

I am entering these jammy tea cakes into the June link up hosted by Dolly Bakes and Laura loves cake. Love licking the jam off the bottom of the biscuit after devouring the chocolate covered marshmallow. How do you eat yours?

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Genevieve Taylor (@genevieveeats) / Jun 7 2012 9:06 pm

    Lovely Becky! I am very excited tot ry a teacake recipe for my Marshmallow Magic book – haven’t eaten one for years!! I reckon I’m going to go the piping route, I do like an excuse to get my piping bag out of the drawer….

  2. Choclette / Jun 8 2012 2:20 pm

    Brilliant, I so resonated with this post. I too craved this sort of delight when I was growing up, but it was definitely not to be. I have a recipe for these and have been meaning to have a go for an age. So glad you did it, they look fantastic. I haven’t even got around to trying out marshmallow yet!

    • mintcustard / Jun 8 2012 4:11 pm

      There were twelve teacakes yesterday and only five today, I have eaten only one so they must taste good too! Choclette, I lusted after anything that came out of a cardboard box rather than my Mum’s cake tin, I’m so glad to know I wasn’t suffering alone!

  3. Rachel / Jun 9 2012 10:57 am

    These look GORGEOUS! My nanna used to get the M&S ones, but these days they have NO JAM! Disgraceful. Now a special request. My favourite chocolate bar from school days was the toffeelicious Trio. Fancy having a go at them? Fab Blog x

  4. Rachel / Jun 9 2012 11:09 am

    I love these teacakes. My nanna used to buy us them from M&S when I was little! Nowadays they are SO small and with NO jam. Disgraceful. I wonder how easy It would be to recreate my favourite childhood choccy biscuit. Toffeelicious Trios? Fab blog x

  5. gillbla / Jun 10 2012 9:57 pm

    Have you tried “Skumtop” from Ikea? They are the lightest, fluffiest chocolate covered marshmallow bites. I LOVE tunnocks because they are much fluffier than your regular teacake, but I think the ikea ones beat even tunnocks.

    • mintcustard / Jun 10 2012 9:59 pm

      No I haven’t I love the name of them too. Now I have a valid reason to go to Ikea rather than just former tea lights!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. whatkatebaked / Jun 24 2012 4:16 pm

    These are just BRILLIANT! I love that you’ve recreated a British teatime classic! We used to (and this sounds bizarre I know) smack them, unwrapped, on our foreheads for good luck!

    • mintcustard / Jun 24 2012 5:00 pm

      I love those sorts of rituals especially when you forget yourself and do them in front of others who have no idea what you are up to! I had such fun recreating these but I really do need to find something to wrap them in as a final flourish. Glad you loved them too.

  7. Caroline / Jun 29 2012 8:27 am

    I couldn’t believe it when I saw this in the Tea Time Treats round-up – guess what I made last Saturday?! I haven’t posted it on my blog yet but I thought it was a really original idea to bake my own Tunnocks tea cakes and you’ve beaten me to it! Yours look fab and you definitely put more effort in than I did – I cheated and used ready made Marshmallow Fluff! I’m adding your site to my blogroll, you’re obviously a baker after my own heart!

    • mintcustard / Jun 29 2012 10:38 am

      Caroline, I had such fun making these and I have had so many comments. They are a bit of a fiddle but it was a rainy weekend so I just made a project of them. Marshmallows are very easy and as you can see come with lots of offcuts as cooks perks! Thanks for adding me to your blogroll and I’m really looking forward to seeing how you teacakes turned out too.

  8. Brenda / Feb 27 2014 8:14 pm

    These sound delicious..what did you use for the chocolate topping?

    • mintcustard / Feb 27 2014 8:29 pm

      I used milk chocolate. Just regular bars.

Trackbacks

  1. More marshmallow madness! S’mores and s’mores pie. « mintcustard
  2. Mocha bourbon biscuits « mintcustard
  3. Home made jaffa cakes « mintcustard
  4. Chocolate Marshmallow Teacake traybake – Tunnocks in a tin! | mintcustard
  5. Candy Cane Marshmallows and popcorn balls. | mintcustard
  6. Coffee recipes for UK coffee week. | mintcustard
  7. Hot toddy marshmallows | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

