Skip to content
June 2, 2012 / mintcustard

Jubilee Mr Whippy cupcakes

IMG_0281

Patriotic Jubilee cupcakes.

Every time I see an ice cream van this joke always pops into my head. Let me share it with you. A man with an unfeasibly high voice walks up to the ice cream man and says, “A 99 please.” The ice cream man replies, “crushed nuts?” to which the squeaky voiced man responds, “no laryngitis!”

If I’d actually got my act together as a child and written Jim that  letter,  I’d have asked him to fix it for me to run an ice cream van for the day. Hands up anyone else out there who has always wanted to swirl Mr Whippy ice cream into a cone, sprinkle it with nuts and adorn it with red sauce. I somehow doubt it will happen now but this recipe for Mr Whippy cakes from the wonderful Jules over at Butcher,Baker has got me part way to realising my dream. I made her recipe last summer and they were a big hit with family and friends.

Looking at the state of the icing on these little beauties however I’m not sure I’d let me loose in an  ice cream van. Jules had styled hers for last years royal wedding celebrations with red, white and blue icing and they looked so entrancing. When my teen reminded (!?) me she needed something to take to the Guides Jubilee party I immediately thought of these cakes and thought I’d be brave and try the tricolour icing too.  The only picture I had time to take doesn’t show the cakes with their flake attached sadly. Guides started at 7pm and we had to rush!

Still not happy with my piping but I am sure I’ll get there. Teen returned with an empty cake box and several mums asked me how to make these so I have directed them to the original recipe over at Butcher, Baker. I still love a straight 99 with flake and sauce so perhaps what I need is some of this next time. Over the Mr Whippy cakes or over ice cream I’d be happy.

Raspberry sauce

1 punnet raspberries

2 tbsp icing sugar

Lemon juice

  1. Pop the raspberries into a non metallic bowl and crush gently with the back of a fork.
  2. Sprinkle over the icing sugar and leave to stand for ten to fifteen minutes to macerate.
  3. Once the raspberries have begun to exude their juices either crush again with your fork or blitz using a hand or stick blender. Taste the sauce, if it is too sugary then correct this by adding a little of the lemon juice. Not so much that your whole face puckers up but enough to avoid saccharine sweetness.
  4. You can leave the seeds in this sauce or pass through a sieve if you prefer.


Chocolate sauce is also a traditional extra offered by ice cream vans. It is very simple to make. Place a bar of good quality chocolate in a bowl with a tablespoon of honey or golden syrup. Pour over enough scalded cream to cover. Stir to melt the chocolate. Allow to cool a little and serve as above.

If anyone does know of an ice cream man willing to help me fulfil a life times ambition let me know, please.

I’m adding this to the Homemade by Fleur, Blogging Jubilee Baking Competition. I have also discovered the Cupcake Tuesday link up hosted over at hoosierhomemade.com. I wonder if they would be interested in these Mr Whippy cupcakes too?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jules / Jun 2 2012 7:53 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed making them. When I was a child a local ice cream van used to squeeze raspberry sauce on the ice cream then dip in sherbet. Heaven!

  2. Homemade by Fleur / Jun 3 2012 12:12 pm

    These look like such fun and something I really must try for my daughters. Thanks so much for entering my bloggers Jubilee baking competition.

  3. mintcustard / Jun 3 2012 12:20 pm

    They are such good fun to make and eat. Jules has created a fantastic recipe here.

  4. Hannah / Jun 6 2012 1:46 pm

    Love the red, white and blue ones and the idea of having proper raspberry sauce with them too!

Trackbacks

  1. A Right Royal Round Up | homemadebyfleur.co.uk
  2. Olympic torch cupcakes « mintcustard
  3. Butternut squash and vanilla jam, and some cupcakes. « mintcustard
  4. Christmas tree cupcakes | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

