Skip to content
January 29, 2012 / mintcustard

Brownies and blondies

After a trip to the USA the two things I usually crave are a curry and a decent cup of tea. Following a recent trip to San Diego this didn’t happen. I’d managed to keep my love of spices satiated with several vegetarian curries and a seriously hot BBQ sauce on a pulled pork bun I demolished in a brew pub. BA always do a decent cup of tea on the flight home so that was me sorted on that front too. Strangely what I wanted when I returned was more of the taste of the USA.
I don’t know about you but on a trip abroad I always make it a point to do a little sightseeing in a local supermarket. I have bags and packets of I don’t really know what in the cupboard just waiting for me to type the instructions into Google translate. There are packs of paprika waiting for me to play culinary roulette, just incase they turn out to be cayenne or ground dried chillies. One purchase that I know I will make good use of are those magnificent bags of chocolate chips that the USA does so well.

Searching through the baking cupboard I knew I had peanut butter chips, peanut butter cups, butterscotch chips and a bag of mixed semi sweet chocolate and butterscotch chips. What to make? Well as I was craving the taste of the USA and I didn’t fancy cinnamon, brownies it had to be. Another root around revealed a lack of cocoa so Blondies it had to be. Butterscotch blondies.

Butterscotch Blondies

1/2 cup butter (melted)
1 cup soft brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup butterscotch chips ( chopped caramac would work in the UK)
Pinch salt
1 cup plain flour
Brownie tin, I used a 10″ by 6″ tin lined with parchment

1. Preheat the oven to 175c
2. Melt the butter over a low heat and pour into a mixing bowl.
3. Stir the sugar into the melted butter and combine well.
4. Beat in the egg and the vanilla extract.
5. Fold in the sifted flour and the salt.
6. Mix in the butterscotch chips evenly.
7. Scrape the batter into the tin, spread out evenly and bake in the oven for between 20 and 25 minutes. The finished blondies should have a slightly cracked sheen on the surface and be squidgy to the touch. Allow to cool a little before cutting into squares.
8. Serve warm with either cream, ice cream or a really good cup of coffee.

If you want to make brownies replace 1/4 cup of the flour with good quality cocoa powder. You can vary the chips with other flavours, chopped nuts or dried fruits of your choice.

Leave a Reply

