Skip to content
January 8, 2012 / mintcustard

Chocolate Chelsea Buns

I’m fairly new to this blogging game. I have a had a blog in the past as a way to put up recipes from a book I’d written that didn’t make the final cut but that still wanted to share with every one. You can find that here at Real Meals – food from the movies. However Mintcustard was created just so I could indulge my love of food and then share that with anyone who might be interested. I have discovered  a huge blogging community and being the new girl is really rather daunting, although that’s  just my feeling not an indictment. I have to gird my loins in any new social situation, real or virtual so this is no different.
Finding these recipe round ups have been a Godsend for me. I’ve enjoyed the challenge of working to a theme, found new blogs far faster than I would have otherwise and I’m beginning to feel more that I belong here. If I am new to you please get in touch. Please leave a comment on my blog and I promise I’ll try to be less shy and leave comments on your blogs too.
My thanks go to Karen at Lavender and Lovage  for hosting this and for her blog which I return to frequently.
Why Chelsea buns? I love them, simple as that. The buns that is not the team. Crystal Palace through and through but indulge me on that one. Something about the way Chelsea buns are sticky, sweet and yeasty all at the same time. Buns are made to be shared. Peeling them apart from one another raises a smile from all at the table. A very simple pleasure, not dissimilar from popping the top of a coffee jar. Why chocolate? I am the only one in this house that really likes raisins very much. I could of course just say “get over it”, however years of trying just that leaves me with twelve Chelsea buns to eat all by myself. Not that I’d mind but I really don’t want that challenge so soon into the New Year. Chocolate it is then, best eaten warm and sticky with several friends. Perfect for a tea time treat.

Dough

650g strong white bread flour

60g caster sugar

75g white vegetable fat or lard

1 egg

1 tsp salt

180ml warm milk

150ml warm water

1 sachet yeast

Filling

150g dark chocolate chopped

approx half a jar of nutella

Topping

warmed apricot jam to glaze

How to …….

Pre heat oven to 375f / 190C

  1. Place the warm water in a jug and stir in a sprinkle of sugar and the yeast. Leave out of any drafts until the yeast has doubled in size.
  2. Into a large bowl sieve the flour and stir in the sugar and salt. Cut the lard or vegetable shortening into the flour and rub in until the vegetable fat resembles breadcrumbs
  3. Pour in the warm milk and stir to begin to incorporate, now add the beaten egg and the yeast mixture. Using a round bladed knife mix until the dough comes together.
  4. Using your hands knead the dough gently but effectively for 5 minutes or so until the dough becomes smooth and silky. The dough is very soft and “loose” you may need more flour on your work surface as you work it.
  5. Make the dough into a ball and place in an oiled bowl. Cover with a damp cloth. Leave for an hour and a half until well risen.
  6. Knock back (punch the dough in the middle to deflate it) and let it rise again for another 45 minutes.
  7. On a lightly floured surface roll the dough out to approximately 30cm x 20 cm.
  8. Cover the dough with a good smear of Nutella.
  9. Take the 150g chocolate chunks or chips and scatter over the Nutella layer. With the long side facing you, roll the dough up into a long sausage with the filling on the inside. Poke back, or eat any chocolate chunk escapees.
  10. Taking a sharp knife and cut into 2cm slices.

Place onto a baking tray and allow to rise for another 30 minutes.

Bake in the oven for 20 t0 25 minutes.

Once golden remove and brush with the warmed apricot jam. These taste best eaten while warm!

If you’d like to adapt these further plain chocolate spread rather than Nutella could be used along with some orange zest and chocolate orange chunks. A good way to use up those leftover Xmas choccies.


4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. gillbla / Jan 8 2012 11:38 am

    They look delicious!

  2. Karen / Jan 8 2012 12:58 pm

    Thanks so much Becky for your wonderful entry for Tea Time Treats, and for your kind words about my blog! It is wonderful to meet you and your great sounding blog, Mint Custard is a SUPER name and I am sure you will do very well…….I LOVE the blogging community and everyone is so helpful and friendly. I am thrilled that you entered into the tea time treats challenge for your maiden blog challenge, wonderful!
    The Chelsea Buns look divine and I LOVE the chocolate twist too…..I am a HUGE lover of the wee pastries and these look delicious.
    I am now following you and will be along regularly to see what you are doing!
    Thanks again for your entry,
    Karen

  3. Janice (Farmersgirl) / Jan 8 2012 2:00 pm

    These look amazing!

    • mintcustard / Jan 8 2012 3:40 pm

      Thank you to everyone who has commented. Good to share the fun with you all.

Leave a Reply

