Skip to content
November 30, 2011 / mintcustard

Hot buttered crumpets

Hot buttered crumpets, chocolate cake and a cup of tea in my 70’s childhood meant a couple of  things. Doctor Who was about to make an appearance on the television and I was about to dive behind the sofa. It might have been because I was scared witless or it may have ahd something to do with not wanting to share any part of my plate of crumpets.

As the liquid butter oozed through to holes and had to be licked from my rather podgy fingers a Cyberman could have kidnapped my Granny and I really wouldn’t have minded too much. If he’d made a play for the crumpets however that would have been a very different story.

I have made crumpets before, using Mrs Beeton’s recipe. They were magnificent but I had so much batter I was feeding friends for weeks. A couple of weeks ago Stevie Parle shared a recipe for crumpets in his Telegraph column. My stomach lurched in anticipation and that was it. I had to make crumpets that day!

Now I possess a huge quantity of what I’d describe as kitchenalia  and my family just call stuff. Sadly there isn’t a crumpet ring to be had in any drawer in my kitchen and I’m a bit too tight to pay £10.95 for four from my local kitchenware store. I’d resigned myself to a plate of pikelets, (crumpets made in a  pancake style) but then I had a brainwave. I’d use a tuna can I’d just put out to recycle. Cut off the bottom and it is just the right size to make those crumpets. It was fiddly and I will be looking for tuna cans with a lip on both ends as getting purchase with the can opener on the bottom of the can took some doing. Never the less as you can see from the photo it worked and I have to say the crumpets were sublime.

I’m lucky enough to have a flat griddle to cook on but a large frying pan would work equally well. Stevie suggests having them for breakfast, you could easily do this. Get up and make the batter, go back to bed with a coffee and the papers and then pop back downstairs to make the crumpets an hour later. Slathered in butter and in my case Marmite. Mmmmm. Heavenly. Thank you Stevie.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cindy Goodwin / Nov 30 2011 6:50 pm

    Ohhhhh! Perhaps I’ll make these for Dean and his sister, visiting America for Thanksgiving.
    Thank you, from across the pond!

  2. mintcustard / Nov 30 2011 9:17 pm

    They are so easy Cindy and they taste so much better than anything shop bought!

  3. Zoeh. / Apr 8 2013 8:54 pm

    I remember that diving behind the sofa! And that reminds me, I do have crumpet rings but they’re still in the packaging! Must try them out…

Trackbacks

  1. Sourdough crumpets made with my excess starter. | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

