Skip to content
October 9, 2011 / mintcustard

What to make with pumpkin puree?

With the evenings drawing in and the autumnal nip in the air thoughts turn to stews and other heart dishes.

Who am I kidding!

This weather is completely barmy (and balmy) at the moment. Last weekend I rather rashly walked a half marathon, overnight through central London wearing a T shirt, trackies and a grimmace. The temperature didn’t fall below 20 degrees. My most recent blog posts have been singing the praises of the BBQ but I am still a sucker for that herald of Autumn the pumpkin. I can’t leave them to be carved into grotesque faces. I know how delicious they are.

Unsure what to cook. Soup? Ravioli? Cupcakes? Curry? I thought I’d make a puree first and then decide.

Preheat the oven to 220 c. Take a pumpkin. Cut into half and half again. De seed the quarters. Retain the seeds for making into snacks. Cut each quarter into chunks the size of a Mars bar. Oil a roasting pan very sparingly. Tip in the pumpkin chunks and turn over in the oil. Roast for 45 mins or until a skewer goes in easily. Remove and place in a large bowl Cover with clingfilm and allow to steam until cool enough to handle. Remove the skin and blitz to a smooth puree using a stick blender.

Pumpkin puree

I was still unsure quite what to create when I remembered the cake tin was empty.

Never one to allow this to happen normally I decided to rectify this oversight with a big pumpkin cake. I’ve made pumpkin spiced cupcakes in the past, and I can’t get enough of pumpkin spiced lattes in the US if I’m there in the right season so a spiced pumpkin loaf it was. Never having made on before i use a recipe from the USA. The texture is fantastic but next time I’m adding more spices, and a sugary crumble topping.

I still have some puree left over so I think it’s pumpkin ravioli  for me tomorrow. It is sad to see the sunshine fade away but the bright orange glow from this loaf cake has brightened my day up no end.

What do you make with pumpkins and squashes? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

