Skip to content
September 16, 2011 / mintcustard

chocolate oatycakes

I know why I wash the kitchen floor, I just sometimes wonder whether it wouldn’t be better to wash it just before I go to be and then it might get a good eight hours without someone dropping something sticky on it. Today’s contribution, just 15 minutes after it had dried was a mixture of brown sugar, mustard and soy sauce I’d mixed together to top the ham in coke we were having for dinner this evening.

Ever frugal I thought whilst the oven is on, and the mop  is out, I’d make some biscuits to placate the gannets when they came home from school. Today’s quote from the ravening hordes- “You are a foodie Mum, why is there never any food in the house?” ” Because you lot eat it,” was the obvious answer. There was food, proper food just not packets of crisps, biscuits or plastic wrapped plastic cheese.  To be precise, a gammon plopping away on the hob, a huge fruit bowl and a tray of these little beauties.

I know these oatycakes are just right as an after school snack because my Mum made them for me too. She’s no longer here to do the same for her grandchildren but she left the recipes so I do the next best thing. I make them. I use her handwritten recipe. Truth be told I know the recipe off by heart but getting out her kitchen notebook and seeing her handwriting brings her back just for a short while.

You may not be able to read her handwriting, few could, so I’ll translate.

 

Chocolate oatcakes.

4oz Marg

4 heaped tbsp flour (plain)

4 heaped tbsp oats

2 heaped tbsp sugar

1 dessert spn cocoa

pinch salt

Melt fat in saucepan, add sugar, flour, oats and cocoa.

Mix together, put in greased swiss roll tin.

Bake 15 to 20 mins, 350 reg 4

Ice while hot

4 heaped tbsp icing sugar

1 dessert spoon cocoa.

Mix with neat orange juice, cut into squares when cold.

This is what they look like, before the teenagers get home from school.

I have no idea where the recipe came from, but it is firmly embedded in our family psyche now. It would be lovely to know if you use the recipe and share with your after school snackers. Mum was a head-teacher, she’s be really pleased to know she was feeding the next generation of learners still, even if only in body and not in mind.

I’d love to know what recipes make up your family’s culinary DNA too.

Leave a Reply

