Skip to content
September 12, 2011 / mintcustard

Slow roasted beef brisket

Coming home from school to a house that smells deliciously of slowly roasting meat would be one of my favourite things. Sadly, as it tends (who am I kidding, it is always) me who organises the food in our house it is my daughters who get this pleasure. Today’s olfactory equivalent of a hug was slow roasted brisket.

I’m not sure which bit of slowly roasted meat appeals most. Perhaps rich deep sticky flavours or the way the fat has rendered into the meat and basted as it cooked. Really it just tastes magnificent and usually as you lift the meat from the tray to rest on a plate a little piece drops off. Cooks perks as my Dad used to say.

I do recall eating brisket as a child but I can’t remember how it was cooked. The gravy my nan served with it was so good. I doubt it was a complex recipe so my version is very simple, tasty and has the best gravy.

Slow roasted brisket

1 brisket joint, unrolled
2 onions, finely sliced
Salt
Pepper
Water

Preheat the oven to 160c

Place the onions on the bottom of a large roasting tin.
Season the onions with salt and pepper.
Place the beef on the onions. Season the meat well.
Add a glass or two of water, (you can use stock or red wine but I doubt my Nan did!)
Cover the tin with foil and seal well.
Pop in the oven for between 3 and 4 hours.
Check the meat every hour or so and top up the liquid if necessary.
Rest for 15 minutes and serve with green beans and loads of mash to soak up the gravy.

I hope you find a time to give your loved ones the foodie equivalent of a hug. The smell is guaranteed to put a smile on the face of anyone who crosses your threshold and envy into the hearts of passers by.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. gaskella / Sep 13 2011 8:43 pm

    I’ve never cooked brisket – must give it a go some time soon.

Leave a Reply

