Skip to content
January 6, 2013 / mintcustard

Toblerone refrigerator cake or how to use up those leftover chocolates.

You know what it’s like. It gets to Twelfth Night and you are still ankle deep in Christmas. The tree is still up, the cards are curling at the edges and your children this Heroes and Quality Street are acceptable as breakfast. Apart from stripping the house clear of all things Xmassy I decided I had to do something about the food. It lingers on tables beckoning me to eat it. I really need no encouragement so I thought I’d use it up all at one go and then that would be that.

I already have a plan for the snacks and some of the smaller sweets. Compost cookies are brilliant and use up any last half bags of both sweet and salty snacks that have snuck back into the cupboard to go stale. Compost cookies are good and frugal too. Don’t bother adding any cheesey Wotsits or Skips. They are best flushed in my opinion! Here is the recipe for Compost cookies taken from one of my earlier Olympic foods posts.

As a teacher I am obliged to buy a bar of Toblerone annually. The box is a teaching aid when it comes to explaining the net of a Triangular prism. However the contents are more tricky, I have a whole 400g bar of Toblerone and I really can’t face eating it. Not after a jar of Quality Street, two tins of Heroes, a virtual Fort Knox of chocolate coins and the heads from several Lindt teddies.

You can’t give it away without the box but I can’t throw chocolate away. I needed to bake with it. If I could use up other chocolate leftovers all the better too. This isn’t a hard and fast recipe. If you don’t have 400g of chocolate then you can halve or even quarter the quantities below. Leave out the rice crispies and add more biscuit. It really depends what you still have knocking about and want to use up.

toblerone

Toblerone Refrigerator cake.

400g Toblerone or other leftover solid chocolate bar

200g digestive biscuits – crushed

150g rice crispies

100g assorted chocolates and marshmallows cut up into chunks. (here you could use nut and raisin mixes, snipped up Newberry fruits, glace fruits, dates, the list is endless)

50g butter

2 tbsp golden syrup

fridge cake

How to …

  • Butter a large rectangular baking dish, mine is
  • Melt the Solid chocolate bar, butter and syrup in a bowl over hot water.
  • Snip up the small chocolates, jellies, dried fruit, coins, smarties etc into small pieces.
  • Stir the crushed biscuits and rice crispies into the melted chocolate.
  • Fold in the chopped up treats.
  • Tip into the buttered dish and press down with the back of a spoon.
  • Refrigerate until set.
  • Cut into bite sized squares.
  • Share with all and sundry.
  • Do not buy any chocolate for at least 6 months!

 

I have decided to enter this into a new Blog link up Credit Crunch Munch run by Helen at Fuss Free Flavours and Camilla at Fab food 4 all. I love the feeling that using up leftovers gives me. Almost as if I’m getting something for nothing. As nothing is all I have just after Christmas I need as many of these meals and ideas as possible.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Camilla @Fabfood4all / Jan 6 2013 11:47 am

    Thank you for entering the first ever Credit Crunch Munch and what a fab way to use up all those chocolates and sweets that lie around the house after Christmas. I stupidly then go and get tempted to buy more in the supermarket sales with the vague excuse that I can cook with them (well that’s what I told my daughter when I bought 2 giant tubes of pink Smarties for 38p each)!

Trackbacks

  1. #clearaplate – love your leftovers. A recipe bank of ideas. | mintcustard

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,588 other followers

